top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMacy Williams

Critical Reflection Writeup

Conventions deal with the way someone projects their product using visual composition, color, text, and graphics. My magazine cover contains a bright aesthetic background with a picture to grasp the reader’s attention. Making my magazine fly of the shelf an into their hands for reading pleasures. It also contains bold writing outlined in various shapes to further spark the reader's attention to some key components of the magazine. Having the title in a larger font is a tactic used to direct the audience's attention to the overall main product which in this case is the magazine “Hidden Gems”. Other conventions I used such as, short catch phrases like ”10 eye catching places in the US” were simple yet allow one to hook the readers interest on the articles within.

My media product could be produced in various ways. The first one would be through print and have them distributed in airports, rest stops, and grocery stores. My magazine deals with traveling so it is more aimed towards middle-aged audience. To target this social group placing these in airports would be effective because it’s where people who like to travel and travel frequently can be found. In addition, the seatbacks of airplanes would be another great place to showcase this particular magazine. Another way of distributing this magazine to the masses is through digital media. The cover includes the logos for the various social media platforms as well as a QR code where you can find the articles within our magazine. A large percentage of people use these applications in daily life and even a larger percentage within are middle-age target audience. Overall, maximizing the number of people and platforms this magazine can reach.

My product engages with the audience by portraying a desirable activity in this case, traveling, and how to see the most without spending the most. Using visual attention grabbers on the cover page it invites the readers to explore this magazine and all the information that lies within. With colorful pictures and bright texts, it emphasizes the information this magazine contains making it easy to read. My magazine is created to portray a relaxing/adventurous lifestyle that is accessible to anyone. It is targeted towards families or middle-aged people that enjoy traveling and discovering new places. For example, it gives great ideas where people could go to in the summer, their free time, and even local places that don’t require a lot of money. Another, way I could engage the audience is by posting it on a wide variety of social media platforms in the form of advertisement or even bits of articles featured within the magazine. Overall, intriguing a wide audience and enticing them to purchase the magazine.

My media product could be produced in various ways. The first one would be through print and have them distributed in airports, rest stops, and grocery stores. My magazine deals with traveling so it is more aimed towards middle-aged audience. To target this social group placing these in airports would be effective because it’s where people who like to travel and travel frequently can be found. In addition, the seatbacks of airplanes would be another great place to showcase this particular magazine. Another way of distributing this magazine to the masses is through digital media. The cover includes the logos for the various social media platforms as well as a QR code where you can find the articles within our magazine. A large percentage of people use these applications in daily life and even a larger percentage within are middle-age target audience. Overall, maximizing the number of people and platforms this magazine can reach.

Production skills are composed of the multiple sources and services used when producing a product. They help amplify one’s work making it appeal to a desired audience. To form my magazine, I used applications such as Canva, Word, and Photoshop. These helped me be able to place certain pictures and context where I desired. Preparation such as cropping images and discovering appropriate fonts allowed for the product to be a cohesive and visually appealing piece. For example, I had used photoshop to create my first magazine cover but realized Canva was a better option for my topic resulting in me making a new one. Through trial and error, I was able to figure out the simplicity and key features that will allow for the material to be conveyed to an audience. Throughout this project my production skills developed a lot allowing me to create a magazine cover and table of context that is both captivating and attracting.

To create my magazine via online I integrated many different types of software, hardware, and online resources. To start, Canva is one of the main software’s I took advantage of to form my magazine. It is fairly easy to use and has pre-made templates that I just filled in with my own information and pictures. It also allows you to experiment with widgets that add additional shapes, edit colors/fonts, all while promoting one to place their own personal touch on each page. To be able to utilize the software hardware is needed. For example, the hardware products I used include an I-phone 8 plus for taking pictures and a Lenovo desktop to access Canva which then made it easy to put everything together. Lastly, online websites such as Canvas and Wix.com helped me submit and portray parts of my magazine.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Three Aspects

Here is my final magazine cover, table of content, and double page spread.

Citations

Cites I got my some of my pictures from https://ontheworldmap.com/italy/city/rome/ https://rome.us/squares-and-fountains/piazza-navona.html https://rome.us/churches/san-clemente.html The rest of the p

Final Critical Reflection

After revising all my content I put it into a powerpoint that reflects my work throughout this class. After looking over everything I did last year I knew it was important to make my work more detaile

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page